WIP Wednesday & Happy Independence Day

Happy Fourth of July to all my friends who celebrated with barbecues, swimming pools and vacations down the shore. If you didn’t notice, Sunday came and went without a post from me, that’s because I got a little tied up over the weekend and didn’t have a chance to write anything down. This was a pretty typical Fourth of July, at the Rutko Refuge. We don’t really do too much for the holiday, all of our family is out of state and we do not like to travel on the holidays because of the crazy traffic, so we usually just hang out at the refuge and maybe do something locally. In true stitch fashion, I celebrated the fourth by taking a break from my current WIPs and working on a mini sampler for the month of July from the book 365 Tiny Crosstitch Designs by Kooler Design Studio.

I was inspired to celebrate the holiday this way by Stitch Maynia’s July Patriotic Stitch Along on Facebook. It was just happenstance that I checked the group page and found the stitch a long event and while I don’t have any plans to participate all month, I thought it was a great idea to do something just for the day, plus I’ve been meaning to do these little mini samplers anyway, there is one for each month in the book. This one I stitched on 14 count Aida, because well that’s what I have around the house, so I just cut a scrap piece off and didn’t even bother to fray check it, I just threw it in the hoop, center marked it and started stitching.

Most of the floss I had in my stash, but I did have to make 2 substitutions, the green and red. The finished piece is about 2 x 3 inches, which I I think will look great in one of those cute little 2 x 3 frames you can pick up at AC Moore or Michael’s. Since I do plan on doing all the monthly mini samplers, I’m thinking about doing a monthly mini day where I start & finish one small piece that day, and the mini samplers would be great to start off with especially, since I already have July done.

Here are some progress pictures of the July mini sampler:

Be sure to look out for another mini sampler coming to you in August.

I’ve also been working on my movie making skills, using some apps on my iPhone, and for fun I put together this cute scary movie-ish movie trailer, featuring my fur babies. If you like you can check it out on YouTube:

Thanks for checking in & happy stitching!

SaveSave

SaveSave

One thought on “WIP Wednesday & Happy Independence Day

Leave a Reply

