Sunday’s Stitches & Stuff – On The Road

What a chaotic week this has been. As I shared on Wednesday, my week started out good, that is until Monday night. That’s when my “stitcher’s thumb” started acting up, preventing me from stitching all week. In addition to not being blue to stitch, I had the task of getting us ready for a long weekend to visit family, which would have given me little time for stitching anyway. In fact, I am writing this post from Cape May, NJ! So my week ended with a packed car, an 8 hour drive, and time with family, in PA and Cape May! So between the chaos and injury I am lucky that the house is still standing, the zoo is good health, and hubby didn’t starve! Here’s a few more details from this past week.

What I’m Stitching

Obviously, my stitching progress was delayed this week, due to having to wear my brace and rest my wrist. Yet this weekend I was able to pick up the needle and thread again, and worked on my Year Of Celebrations series while we were away. Luckily, I do not get car sick and so I was able to stitch in the car for some of the drive, plus had some time while I was visiting to stitch.

Here is how April looks:


What I’m Reading

This week, unfortunately, I did not have time to open a book. I truly meant to, I carried a book with me around the house, thinking I’ll have a chance to sit a read a few pages. Needless to say that never happened. However, a few books I had on request from the library became available and I have my Mystery Book club coming up soon.

Here is my current To Be Read pile:


I fully intend to finish this pile this month! Fingers crossed and bookworm angels be with me.

What I’m Watching

Again, I did not have much time for TV this week. In fact, I really only watch TV when I am stitching, so without being able to stitch, I really didn’t watch anything. My husband and I do usually watch a show together once or twice a week, and since the summer season is upon us, none of our regular shows are on. So we usually pick something from Netflix or Amazon Prime. This week we chose to start watching Season 3 of The Last Ship. We both really like this show and Season 1-3 are available on Hulu right now.

Highlights
One highlight from this week, is that I decided to give the Xstitch app another shot. If you are unfamiliar, this is an inventory and journal app for cross stitchers. There is a way to enter and manage an inventory which includes: threads, linen, charts, & kits. There is also a way to make journal entries for projects, which include the categories Wish List, Kitted, Started & Finished. Within each journal entry you enter the chart title and designer (both required), a start and/or finish date, linen notes, and project notes. You can also upload any picture you want to go with the journal entry. This is my second time trying to work with Xstitch app, and mainly my intention this time is to use it as a quick way to keep track of my WIPs, so that when I am finished and make my completed piece Project Life page, I have all the necessary information.

Below is a screenshot of the opening page, you can personalize the page by adding a photo, this is one of my favorites of my cat Bubba, “supervising” my stitching.


There are definitely some good parts and some features to be desired in the app. After I’ve been using it for a while I think I may do a full review. For now I am just figuring out how it would work best for my stitching.

That’s all for now, thanks for reading and have a great week!

SaveSaveSaveSave

Leave a Reply

