WIP Wednesday – Progress Delay Due to Injury 

Happy stitching on this wonderful WIP Wednesday! Well at least I hope it’s wonderful for you, for me there has been a hiccup in my stitching progress:

The brace that you see me wearing is due to an inflammation of, what I call, my stitcher’s thumb. In actuality, it is called DeQuervain’s Syndrome, or rather Radial Styloid Tenosynovitis.

How, you may ask, can I speak so fancifully about a hand injury? Well, as some of you may know, besides being a cross stitcher and Whovian, I’m also an Occupational Therapist. Graduate of Thomas Jefferson University, Occupational Therapy Class of ’04. So I know a thing or two about hands.

Basically “stitcher’s thumb”, which is a lot easier to say, is an inflammation of the tendons at the base of the thumb joint, basically where you’re thumb comes in to your wrist. The inflammation is primarily caused by repetitive radial and ulnar deviation, with the thumb in sustained abduction. Or rather moving your wrist side to side, while holding a needle.

Actually, I have been dealing with stitcher’s thumb for a while now, but this time it only started bothering me Monday night, while I was working on the Year of Celebrations series. The standard treatment is to ice, medicate with an anti-inflammatory, immobilize, and rest. So I have not picked up the needle or thread since Monday night, which has made me very cranky. For this WIP Wednesday post, I’ll share where I’m at with my two projects, needless to say I did not get very far this week.

Happily Ever After:

Year of Celebrations – April:

Thanks so much for reading I hope you’re stitching is going much better than mine.

SaveSave

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – Progress Delay Due to Injury 

  1. Sorry to hear about your ‘stitcher’s thumb’…..hope you’re on the mend and can pick up a needle again soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

