Cross stitching is not only my favorite hobby, it is also one of the many ways I deal with depression and anxiety. While I take every oppurtunity to stitch at home in the evenings and on weekends, there are times when I have unexpected free time on my hands. That is when my Travel Purse Pouch comes in handy. Here is a breakdown of my Mini Cross Stitch Travel Purse Pouch.

1. The Pouch


Many eons ago when I first started my adventures in cross stitching, I searched high and low for a bag that I could use to store my kits, fabrics, threads, and whatnot. What I eventually found, which suited my purpose perfectly, was in fact a diaper bag. It was perfect, mainly because it was big, had lots of pockets for organization and, best of all, was in a wonderful Winnie the Pooh pattern (I am a huge fan of the Pooh Bear). Part of the diaper bag accoutrements that came with it, was this small pouch whose intended purpose was to hold tissues and small baby items such as pacifiers. At first I just kept the cute little pouch in the bag with my supplies. It wasn’t until a few years later when I found a purpose for the pouch. In 2004 I started my occupational therapy program, during which I had a 30 minute commute to and from the campus Monday thru Friday. While many students utilized the commute time for studying and getting ahead of the homework, I often needed to use that commute as decompression time. A time to relax and prepare myself for either the day ahead or the evenings assignments. Naturally, my way of  decompressing is by putting needle to fabric. But how to accomplish this while commuting on the train? Why by working on small mini kits using that adorable pouch that came with my “diaper bag” to keep and transport them. Not only did that pouch travel to and from school with me for years, those mini kits were very often the only projects I was able to even stitch during those busy years. Today, I continue to keep the pouch in my purse and very often pull it out when waiting at the doctor’s office, on long car rides, at work on my lunch break, etc. While I still have many mini kits in my stash bin, now I often create my own mini projects to keep in the pouch.

2. Mini Kits


Of course every cross stitch bag needs to have a project or two inside. When I first started using the mini kit pouch, I would grab every $1 kit I saw at A.C. Moore, Michaels, even Walmart. They vary in size, but most are 3 inches by 3 inches.  Due to my obsessive collecting of those kits when I was in school, I have a near never ending supply in my stash bin. These days, however, I often alternate between the premade kits and kits of my own design from patterns in books/magazines.

3. Frame


This is a fairly new addition to my pouch. In fact when I was younger I use to just hold the fabric in my left hand while stitching the mini projects. Over the years though, my hands have developed some issues and hold the smaller pieces of fabric without a frame became almost impossible. First, I purchased the smallest hoop frame I could find which was 3 inches in diameter. I still use this frame for the kits I make up myself, as I can cut the fabric large enough to use the frame. However, the fabric that comes with the mini kits is still too small for the hoop frame. So recently I decided to design a frame of my own. This works perfectly. The frame is cut from balsa wood and covered with duct tape to protect the fabric. Binders clips hold the fabric to the frame while I’m stitching.

4. Embroidery Tin


This is also an item I made for myself. The tin is an adorable Alice In Wonderland themed tin that was originally sold as a keychain. After I removed the keychain, I added felt to the lid for keeping my needles, put a pinchusion in one corner, and still was able to fit a needle threader, small snippers, and a tiny cube of thread conditioner.

5. Travel ORT Jar


Last but not least, a place to put all my little snips of thread. This cute container is actually a travel pill container. It is the perfect size for the pouch and with the screw on lid, I never have to worry about spillage.


Well that’s my mini travel cross stitch pouch which is always with me, just ask next time you see me, I’ll show you.

Thanks for reading and happy stitching.

